Click to resize the text + -
State of Nebraska Board of Engineers and Architects


All in-office payments must be check or exact cash. The Board staff cannot process debit or credit cards in the office or over the phone. 

License Fees

Initial License Application: $100

Comity License Application: $150

License Reinstatement Application: $150

*Temporary Application: $300

*Valid for one project for up to two years

Enrollment Fees

Engineer Intern (EI) Enrollment Application: $30

Examination Fees

Principles & Practice of Engineering (PE) Application*: $0

*Additional fees may be required after approval by the Board and are determined by the exam administrator. Contact NCEES for more information.

License Renewal Fees

Individual Renewal: $80

*Monthly Penalty for Late Renewals: $8 *(up to $80)

Certificate of Authorization Fees

The size of an organization is based on the total number of licensed architects and professional engineers regularly performing services for the organization both in the United States and other countries, regardless of their jurisdiction of registration or licensure or if the organization is applying to practice only one profession. It does not include licensees who provide occasional part-time or consulting services.

Application for Certificate of Authorization

# of Licensees










*Valid for two years

Certificate of Authorization Renewal for Organization

# of Licensees










*Valid for two years

Other Fees

Emeritus Status for Non-practicing Engineers: $25

  • Emeritus is a one-time payment with no renewals. Professional engineers who have elected emeritus status retain their professional honorary titles but are prohibited from practicing. To read more about Emeritus status, view the Emeritus information page and Rule 1.11.4 of The Nebraska Engineers and Architects Regulation Act.

Duplicate Wall Certificate (Licensee or Engineer Intern): $25

Returned Check / Electronic Payment Fee: $30

Roster and / or Public Information Requests: Varies

Verification of Examination and Licensure: $0

Electronic Check Re-Presentment Policy: In the event that a check is returned unpaid for insufficient or uncollected funds, we may re-present your check electronically. In the ordinary course of business, your check will not be provided to you with your statement.

If you have any questions about certificates of authorization, please contact us.