Requirements | FE | Engineer Intern Enrollment | PE/SE | Experience | Initial Licensure
The requirements for initial licensure as a professional engineer in Nebraska are:
- A degree from an EAC/ABET or CEAB-accredited engineering program OR meeting the NCEES Engineering Education Standard;
- Passage of the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam (FE) and the Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE) Exam, including the Structural Engineering (SE) Exam;
- At least four years of progressive engineering experience gained after a four-year engineering program or equivalent; and
- Passage of an exam on the Nebraska E&A Act and Board's Rules and Regulations.
If you have passed the PE in another jurisdiction but are looking to obtain your initial license in Nebraska, you will need to submit an Engineer Initial Licensure Application after meeting the above requirements.
Please refer to the initial licensure application process page for more details.
Educational Debt Reimbursement Request
Nebraska engineering graduates who have passed the FE Exam may qualify for a $50 reimbursement from the Board if they meet the following requirements:
- Graduated from an EAC/ABET-accredited engineering program in Nebraska,
- Passed the FE Exam on the first attempt, no later than nine months after graduation, and
- Have qualifying educational debt. Qualifying education debt is defined as any government or commercial loans obtained by a student for post-secondary education, tuition, other educational expenses, or reasonable living expenses, as determined by the Board.
To request reimbursement:
- Complete the Engineering Education Reimbursement Request form and send the completed form to the Board.
- Request a copy of your official transcript to be sent directly to the Board's office from the granting institution. Electronic transcripts may be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org. Note: Master/Doctorate graduates from the University of Nebraska will need to request their graduate transcript from Lincoln, even if the program was offered wholly in Omaha.
- Your request and transcript must be received within 12 months of graduation from the EAC/ABET-accredited engineering program.
Allow six-eight weeks for processing. Reimbursement will be in the form of a check from the State of Nebraska.